I loved you like only a mother could love a son.

We were all each other had in the world

I wish I would have had more time with you

Gone to soon

Tommy.png

Tommy was my light and soul. I adopted him from a shelter. It was my 19th birthday present to myself. Tommy was my first dog since the death of my childhood dog five years ago. It took a lot of courage for me to open myself up to something that was so innocent and sweet. The first month with him was torture. He was always peeing on the floor right next to his puppy pads (I think it was just so he could taunt me). My room was full of his toys and favorite treats. I remember waking up one morning and seeing that he had chewed the Xbox Kinect cord up. I couldn’t be mad at such a cute face. I remember having to leave him to go on summer vacation and it was the hardest thing for me to do. When I got back, he jumped up in my lap and I would swear he was 10 pounds heavier. For the rest of July I was busy getting ready to go back to school but I always made time for him. I was at a good point in my life and everything was well.

Two weeks ago, he went missing. I looked everywhere for him and I called people and posted pictures. I searched up and down streets. This was not the first time a dog in my neighborhood had gone missing so I expected the worse. I turned out to be right. Two days after he went missing, I found his body a little bit past my house with his neck slashed. How could someone have done this to my baby. I cried my eyes out and it still hurts me. I wish I could know exactly what happened, but sometimes things do not work out that way. Cherish your moments. I miss you Tommy.

 

